Presidents Welcome

It is my great pleasure to invite you to Auckland for the 57th Annual Conference of the New Zealand Association of Economists. It will again be held at AUT’s Sir Paul Reeves Building which was a very successful downtown venue for our 2014 conference.

Auckland is New Zealand’s commercial hub. It is fitting therefore that we welcome, as a keynote speaker, one of the world’s best-known economists in the field of entrepreneurship and industrial organisation, David Teece, from the University of California’s Haas School of Business (Berkeley). The presence of Professor Teece, a New Zealander, should raise the conference’s profile amongst the many business economists in Auckland and further afield.

I greatly look forward also to our other distinguished keynote speakers: James K. Galbraith, John Gibson and Janet Currie. Their insights, and those of our many other conference contributors, will ensure that the conference appeals to the broad spread of NZAE members’ interests. The Association brings together economists from academia, the government and the private sector, and the conference provides an opportunity for challenging discussions on contemporary and historical issues in economics.

It is my privilege to announce the inaugural Seamus Hogan Prize to honour the memory of Seamus Hogan. Seamus was President of the New Zealand Association of Economists when he died, and had taught for many years at the University of Canterbury in his native Christchurch. He was highly regarded by his colleagues and students for his teaching, research, and support for the profession and the goals of the Association. It is because of the time and care he took with his many students that the focus of this prize is student research. Full details are available here.

The conference committee are working hard to bring you this event: Peter Tait (Lincoln University), Mark Holmes (University of Waikato), Lydia Cheung (Auckland University of Technology) and Anita King (Treasury). Behind the scenes, they are supported by On-cue and Motu.

I would like to acknowledge the financial support of our major sponsors. The support of Treasury, the Reserve Bank, Statistics New Zealand, The Hugo Group and AUT enables us to host highly-regarded overseas speakers to provide keynote addresses.

Your contribution is valued. By coming to the conference, sharing your research and engaging with other economists, you are contributing to the success of the conference, the Association and the profession. I am sure that you will find it enjoyable and worthwhile.

Arthur Grimes
NZAE President


Standard Registration Fee ends 22 June.